wall with art

global-e provides a forum for timely analysis of global events, processes, and concerns. Published on a weekly basis, each issue showcases a feature essay by a leading scholar or practitioner offering provocative reflections on public issues, historical trends, and theoretical debates. By emphasizing concise and jargon free prose, global-e offers specialists the opportunity to share their perspectives with a broad cross-section of readers in more than 170 countries. Our roster of contributors is likewise diverse, including scholars, politicians, artists, and activists.
Originally conceived as a path-breaking collaboration of global studies centers at six research universities, the new global-e is today hosted by the 21st Century Global Dynamics Initiative at the Orfalea Center of the University of California, Santa Barbara. We are furthermore supported by a far-flung network of contributing editors and editorial board members as well as the Global Studies Consortium.
global-e was founded by partners at the Universities of Wisconsin-Madison, Illinois, California Santa Barbara, North Carolina Chapel Hill, Wisconsin-Milwaukee, and Washington.  


Executive editor

Michael Curtin

managing editor

Victor Faessel

Advisory committee

Janet Afary

Alison Brysk

Jan Nederveen Pieterse

Contributing editors

Daniele Archibugi

Neera Chandhoke

Scarlett Cornelissen

Ayça Çubukçu

Richard Falk

Bishnupriya Ghosh


Penelope Green

Marwan Kraidy

Jie-Hyun Lim

Matthias Middell

Laikwan Pang

Yeidy Rivero


Lila Abu-Lughod

Celso Amorim

Ien Ang

Helmut Anheier

Arjun Appadurai

Roland Benedikter

Manuela Boatca

Craig Calhoun

Manuel Castells

Rey Chow

Allen Chun

Manuela Ciotti

Elaine Coburn

Donatella della Porta

Ana Maria Ochoa Gautier

Abdellah Hammoudi

Maria Immacolata Vassallo

De Lopes

Aniko Imre

Koichi Iwabuchi

Paul James

Dayan Jayatilleka

Mark Juergensmeyer

Habibul Khondker

Ranjani Mazumdar

Anne McClintock

Nivedita Menon

Sara Mourad

Tarik Sabry

Dominic Sachsenmaier

Saskia Sassen

Mona Kanwal Sheikh

Manfred Steger

Daya Thussu

Anna Tsing

David Wank

Wendy Willems

Steven Witt

Surichai Wungae

envelope icon